31
Dec
09

Happy New Year to all!

My family and I will be visitng with friends this New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day, so I will return to answering those pressing atheist questions very soon.

Until then, please have a safe, happy, healthy and brave new year!

4 Responses to “Happy New Year to all!”


    • 2 funandprophet
      January 2, 2010 at 7:18 am

      Good question! I honestly don’t know. The traditional role of a Godparent, if I’m not mistaken, is to make sure that the child is brought up in the parents’ religious tradition, should something bad happen to the parents. An atheist could fulfill this role without believing in it, I suppose. And I think that role has changed over the generations to mean becoming a general caretaker for the child.

      It would be very interesting to hear from some atheist godparents, if there are any out there. Perhaps I’ll make a full post out of this and see if we can find any. Thanks for the question!

  1. January 1, 2010 at 4:03 am

    Hi,

    Happy New Year! Just seeing your blog for the first time. What do you say when an atheist sneezes? How about wipe your nose? LOL

    I went to Catholic school for 7 years. I didn’t agree with some of the teachings or thoughts–different strokes for different folks. However what does it hurt to believe in something that is positive and you could end up in a better place than this after you die? Just askin’.

    MessengerofGod


Leave a Reply

I am an atheist, a person who does not believe in the existence of any gods.

Many people don't know a lot about atheists, and have questions about them. In this blog, I do my best to answer them, to help build an understanding between atheists and theists.

Do you have a question? You can post it in the comments to any of my blog entries, and I will do my best to answer it in a new entry.


