04
Jan
10

Why are you an atheist and consider your position valid?

(This is the 6th question in Brett Keane’s Atheist Challenge)

Why are you an atheist and consider your position valid?

Very simply, I am an atheist because I do not have a belief in any gods. “Atheist” is the word that describes this state of being. There’s really nothing more to it than that. I consider this position valid because I lack the evidence or knowledge to know for certain if a god exists, which god they may be, and what religion or traditions that god would prefer that I follow.

I’ve made some other posts in the past that expand on this subject:

When did you realize you were an atheist?
How do you define ‘atheist’?

10 Responses to “Why are you an atheist and consider your position valid?”


  1. July 18, 2010 at 2:57 am

    Do ghost phenomena happens? Lets use a atheistic way to explain the mysterious phenomena happens around me and could be proved repeatedly. Investigate it you will be rewarded abundantly.
    radwind.wordpress.com

    • 2 funandprophet
      July 18, 2010 at 5:46 am

      RadWind,

      Thanks for your reply.

      “Do ghost phenomena happens?”

      If by “ghost phenomena,” you mean evidence of ghost activity, then I can only speak from my own experience – I have never seen any conclusive evidence of ghost phenomena. That is to say, I have never experienced something that I concluded, without a doubt, occurred because a ghost did it.

      That’s not to say that strange things have never happened to me. I’ve had lights turn off in my home, I’ve heard sounds that resemble voices, and seen shapes or forms that vanish when I focus on them. But I do not have enough evidence to come to the conclusion that these events are evidence of ghostly activity, and not just random events, products of my imagination, and/or tricks of light, sound, or other pareidolia.

      Put simply: Strange things DO happen. Not having an explanation for them doesn’t automatically mean that ghosts exist.

      “Lets use a atheistic way to explain the mysterious phenomena happens around me and could be proved repeatedly. Investigate it you will be rewarded abundantly.”

      While I would love an abundant reward (depending, of course, on what that award is!), I have no way to explain, “atheistic” or otherwise, any mysterious phenomena that happens around you. Those are your personal experiences, and I am in no place to remark on them. Unfortunately, personal experience is insufficient evidence for any sort of claim. No one would be able to sufficiently evaluate the situation of your experiences based on your descriptions of them.

      One small mistake you are making is that you are confusing atheism with a disbelief in ghosts, spirits, and suchlike. Atheism is a response to a claim that a god or gods exist – it doesn’t really address the existence of ghosts, and there are a few atheists who do actually believe in ghostly phenomena. Likewise, there are religious believers who do not accept the existence of ghosts.

      For the record, I am an atheist who also does not believe in ghosts, and will continue to do so until evidence for their existence is presented in a convincing way. (So, your assumption is actually correct – which is why I said it’s a small mistake!)

      Thanks again for your comment!

    • July 18, 2010 at 10:58 am

      I don’t belive ghost exists either. But mysterious phenomena indeed happens around me, it is not cause by ghost, just by unknown signal that can’t be explained by the science.
      I mean explain it in a scientific way. It indeed happens and could be proved repeatedly, but can’t be explained by the science. It will be a milestone and breakthrough to the science, I’m seeking someone to help me publish it in a famous news paper.
      radwind.wordpress.com

      • 4 funandprophet
        July 29, 2010 at 2:55 am

        “I don’t belive ghost exists either.”

        Then I am very confused why you asked about ghosts in the first place.

        “But mysterious phenomena indeed happens around me, it is not cause by ghost, just by unknown signal that can’t be explained by the science.
        I mean explain it in a scientific way. It indeed happens and could be proved repeatedly, but can’t be explained by the science.”

        What you need is someone with you, preferably with some testing equipment, to observe these phenomena and interpret the results of the data collected. See if you can find someone from a local university, perhaps a student looking for a subject for a research paper, and see if they are interested in investigating your phenomena. Science loves new discoveries. Finding new horizons is what keeps science alive and thriving.

        If these phenomena only happen when you are alone, then I suppose you are out of luck.

      • July 29, 2010 at 2:24 pm

        I think you don’t know my exact mean.
        My mean is the unknown signal brings my body information to these people surround me, it makes they have the vision of seeing my body just like seeing a soul, and the signal can’t be recorded by any tool.
        Do you have a MSN? Contact me: telepath.young@hotmail.com

      • 6 funandprophet
        July 29, 2010 at 2:53 pm

        There would be many ways to test for such a thing. For one, you could enter a room filled with blindfolded subjects who have never seen you before, then individually ask them to describe the vision they may or may not get from your presence. Then do the same with a control group of people without blindfolds. Compare the responses to get your results.

        There are also ways to measure certain types of brain activity as it changes due to outside stimulus. These are just two simple ideas from a non-scientist. If you were to use either of them to demonstrate to the world that you have this ability, I’m sure the scientific community would be very interested in you. Again, I recommend contacting a local university to see if they would be willing to investigate it.

        I do not have MSN, and for privacy protection reasons, I do not chat with anyone that I talk with here on the blog. But thank you for your interest.

      • July 29, 2010 at 3:02 pm

        Would you like come to China investigate it, or give me a chance to go to your local to prove it? This is great important to the science.

      • 8 funandprophet
        July 29, 2010 at 4:15 pm

        I appreciate the invitation, but perhaps I haven’t made this clear – I am not a scientist. You would need a group of people qualified in investigating your claims to do this. I have no reason to doubt that China has many very intelligent and qualified people who could do so. If you are not comfortable with that, then by all means come to the United States and find someone who is qualified to do it.

      • July 30, 2010 at 12:12 am

        Introduce me to some paranormal invesigation organization, or scientific organization, or university might be a good idea.

      • 10 funandprophet
        July 30, 2010 at 12:56 am

        Try Google. I turned up a few with a simple search:
        http://www.google.com/search?q=universities+in+china

        That’s really the most amount of work I can do for you. You’ll have to manage the rest yourself.


Leave a Reply

I am an atheist, a person who does not believe in the existence of any gods.

Many people don't know a lot about atheists, and have questions about them. In this blog, I do my best to answer them, to help build an understanding between atheists and theists.

Do you have a question? You can post it in the comments to any of my blog entries, and I will do my best to answer it in a new entry.


