03
Feb
10

How do you feel about government/politics?

(This is the 12th question in Brett Keane’s Atheist Challenge)

How do you feel about government/politics?

I hate* politics**, and I am frequently let down by my government.

And in most cases, I do not discuss religion or politics with anyone. Both subjects are practically guaranteed to reverse the opinion that some people have about you, and usually for the worse.

Oddly enough, I’m a big fan of elections, however. Not the smear campaigns that invariably result, but the debates, the strategies, the predictions, the issues, the counting of the polls on election day – I enjoy those parts of it a lot. I figure that enjoy it the same way that most other people enjoy a big sporting event.

(* Yep, you caught me using the word “hate.” You may also notice that I never use it about people, only ideas and concepts.)

2 Responses to “How do you feel about government/politics?”


  1. 1 Sam
    June 6, 2010 at 6:14 am

    **I think you’re missing a footnote.

    • 2 funandprophet
      June 10, 2010 at 5:55 pm

      You’re right, I am – and I can’t for the life of me remember what it was going to be… hmmm…


Leave a Reply

I am an atheist, a person who does not believe in the existence of any gods.

Many people don't know a lot about atheists, and have questions about them. In this blog, I do my best to answer them, to help build an understanding between atheists and theists.

Do you have a question? You can post it in the comments to any of my blog entries, and I will do my best to answer it in a new entry.


