11
Aug
10

Do you believe in aliens, ghosts, spirits, souls, or any kind of supernatural forces?

(This is the 19th question in Brett Keane’s Atheist Challenge)

This would be a good time to discuss the word “believe.”

“Believe” is a word that I don’t use very often when describing myself, because I define it as “accepting something without sufficient evidence.” When someone asks me “Do you believe in evolution?”, I usually respond with “No, I accept evolution. I don’t have to believe in it, because there is sufficient evidence to support it.”

There is also another use of believe that I am more likely to use on myself – when discussing morals (“I believe that murder is wrong.”), but we won’t go into that here.

So, now that the definition is out of the way – my answer is no to most of the above. I don’t believe in ghosts, spirits, souls, or any kind of supernatural forces.

I’m not sure I would consider “aliens” to be a supernatural force, but as with practically everything else, this depends on definitions. I accept that it is possible that other sentient beings could have formed somewhere else in this massive universe – but I have no evidence that they have ever visited Earth or anyone from it, so I reject that claim.

All of this is, of course, open to new evidence. Show me proof that these things exist, and I will consider the evidence and possibly change my mind.

3 Responses to “Do you believe in aliens, ghosts, spirits, souls, or any kind of supernatural forces?”


  1. August 12, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    Yes, ghost phenomena occours, but it is not a realy ghost. Please read my blog: radwind.wordpress.com , the phenomena happens around me and could be prvoed repeatedly.

    • 2 funandprophet
      August 12, 2010 at 2:35 pm

      We’ve discussed this before, but I never got a clear answer from you – Why do you call them “ghost phenomena” if it has nothing to do with ghosts?

  2. August 12, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Yes, ghost phenomena occours, but it is not really a ghost. For more information please read my blog, radwind.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

I am an atheist, a person who does not believe in the existence of any gods.

Many people don't know a lot about atheists, and have questions about them. In this blog, I do my best to answer them, to help build an understanding between atheists and theists.

Do you have a question? You can post it in the comments to any of my blog entries, and I will do my best to answer it in a new entry.


