13
Aug
10

Explain in detail the process of death.

(This is the 21st question in Brett Keane’s Atheist Challenge)

I’m not sure of the exact process, but I know it involves the brain shutting down, followed by all of the body’s organs and functions that it controls. After that, it’s all rigor mortis and decomposition from there.

I’m still a bit iffy on what this has to do with atheism…

3 Responses to “Explain in detail the process of death.”


  1. 1 Roz
    October 4, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    I have no idea if you actually come back and read old posts/comments but if you do I would love to know your opinion on what, if anything, happens to the consciousness when you die?

    The issue of the soul/consciousness is probably what the question was meant to be aimed at as this is what most people of faith would consider if asked the question themselves.

    I really enjoy your blog and hopefully I will get your to hear your wisdom on this point.

    • October 4, 2010 at 10:13 pm

      Roz, thanks for writing. I do make a point of staying on top of comments to older posts, because that’s what I want this to be about – a continuing discussion.

      As for your question – I’m really not sure what happens to the consciousness after death. I’d love for my consciousness to go to a wonderful place where there is no pain or sadness and I get to be with my loved ones for all eternity, but wanting that doesn’t make it a reality.

      It’s difficult, and somewhat uncomfortable, to imagine complete oblivion of the things that make you who you are – but I haven’t seen sufficient evidence to suggest any other alternative. In fact, it seems likely that we will simply return to the state of nonexistence that we were in before we were born.

      Of course, I’m always open to more opinions and evidence, but I’ve seen a lot so far, and none of it has been convincing to me at all.

      Thanks again for your comment!

    • October 4, 2010 at 10:16 pm

      Forgot to add – I think your clarification of the question makes sense. I was probably reading it too literally, like I am prone to do.


Leave a Reply

I am an atheist, a person who does not believe in the existence of any gods.

Many people don't know a lot about atheists, and have questions about them. In this blog, I do my best to answer them, to help build an understanding between atheists and theists.

Do you have a question? You can post it in the comments to any of my blog entries, and I will do my best to answer it in a new entry.


